For Immediate Release:
Enníska/February 17, 2021

 The Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) confirmed to the Mohawk Council of Akwesasne that new COVID-19 restrictions imposed by the Government of Canada at border crossings will not apply to Akwesasne residents.

Canada’s Prime Minister Justin Trudeau announced that as of February 16, 2021, any non-essential travelers arriving in Canada from the United States by land and air are required to submit a negative COVID-19 test taken in the past 72 hours. Akwesasne residents are exempt from this requirement.

As of February 22, 2021, those arriving in Canada will not only be required to submit the negative test taken within 72 hours, but they will also be required to be tested upon their arrival, and again after their required 14-day quarantine.  Akwesasne residents are exempt from these requirements as well.

It has been recognized by CBSA that Akwesasne has unique rights to cross the border, which dissects the Akwesasne territory. In order to meet the requirement for exemption, Akwesasne residents must present a Certificate of Indian Status card which is issued by MCA’s Office of Vital Statistics and Canada’s Indigenous Services Canada (ISC), formerly known as INAC.

Anyone visiting Akwesasne will not be exempt from the COVID-19 testing requirements. Non-Akwesasronon from other territories will only be exempt if their travel to Akwesasne is for essential purposes, such as work.

For more information on Canada’s border crossing requirements for the public, excluding Akwesasne, please visit the CBSA website: www.cbsa-asfc.gc.ca.