Akwesasne Mohawk Board of Education

Composition Of Members:  6 elected District members

(2 community members per District)

Name District Term/Term Expires
  Rosemary Square   Kawehnò:ke   3 years/August 2021
  Kathleen Papineau   Kawehnò:ke   3 years/August 2022
  Sheila Adams (Chair)   Tsi Snaíhne   3 years/August 2022
  Josephine Herne   Tsi Snaíhne   3 years/August 2022
  Shealene Gibson (Co-Chair)   Kaná:takon   3 years/ August 2022
  Cecelia King   Kaná:takon   3 years/August 2022

Portfolio Chiefs on the Akwesasne Mohawk Board of Education

Name District Expires
  Chief Julie Phillips-Jacobs   Kaná:takon   June 2022
  Chief Carolyn Francis   Kawehno:ke   June 2022
Mandate:     Management and Administration of all educational matters for the Territory of Akwesasne.
Chairperson & Contact Number:  Sheila Adams
Authority:   MCR 1985/1986 – # 355
Tenure:       The term of office is three years with an election held annually for a three year staggered term. AMBE has the responsibility for providing leadership in all matters affecting education.
Charter:      None:  see Akwesasne Mohawk Board of Education Policy Handbook
Call-Out:     June annually.
Status:          Active
Honorarium:  In accordance with the MCA honorarium policy.