The Mohawk Council of Akwesasne’s Akwesasne Justice Department is seeking community representatives from the District of Kawehno:ke and Kana:takon interested in becoming members of the Akwesasne Legislative Commission.

To qualify for appointment to the Akwesasne Legislative Commission a person must:

  1. Be a Member of the Mohawks of Akwesasne;
  2. Have knowledge of Mohawk cultures and traditions;
  3. Have good character, credibility and reputation in the Akwesasne community;
  4. Have good communication skills;
  5. Be “in good standing” as defined in the Akwesasne Good Standing Policy;
  6. Not be a Council member of the Mohawk Council of Akwesasne; the Saint Regis Mohawk Tribal Council; or, the Mohawk Nation Council of Chiefs;
  7. Never have been convicted of an offense under the Akwesasne Banishment Law, the Akwesasne Drug Law, an indictable offense in Canada or a felony in the United States;
  8. Produce to the Director of the Akwesasne Justice Department a valid certificate from the Canadian Police Information Centre (CPIC);
  9. Attend and actively participate in training deemed essential for the successful operation of the Akwesasne Legislative Commission;
  10. Attend regularly scheduled Akwesasne Legislative Commission meetings to conduct business and attend Public Meetings as scheduled;
  11. Maintain residence in their District during tenure or maintain residence in Akwesasne as a Member; and
  12. Sign the Oath of Appointment within 30 days of appointment.
An application submitted for consideration for an appointment to the Akwesasne Legislative Commission shall be considered complete once the following documents have been received:
a) Completed application for consideration of an appointment;
b) Letter of interest outlining how the applicant meets the qualifications for appointment;
c) Consent to verify Mohawk Council of Akwesasne Membership;
d) Consent to run an Akwesasne Good Standing Policy check; and
e) Consent to run the Canadian Police Information Centre.
Initial term of appointment is three (3) years. Honorarium set by MCR guidelines for appointed Akwesasne Legislative Commission members.
The Akwesasne Legislative Commission applications are available at the Angus Mitchell Memorial Building (Akwesasne Justice Department). (Monday – Friday 8:00am- 4:00pm)
For information please contact the Akwesasne Justice Department at (613) 575-2250 ext. 2418.
DEADLINE: December 28, 2017 by 12:00 PM (noon)