Community Call-Out Akwesasne Legislative Commission

Tsiothohrhko:wa/ January 28, 2016

The Mohawk Council of Akwesasne, Akwesasne Justice Department is seeking committed members to serve as part of a dynamic and interactive commission for the development of legislative drafting.

The Akwesasne Legislative Commission will:

  1.  establish law-making priorities according to the needs of Akwesasne and develop a community plan for legislative development;
  2.  guide the development of legislation for the Mohawk Council of Akwesasne;
  3.  engage Akwesasronon with consultation and feedback in legislative development;
  4.  participate in community forums and designated Public Meetings to inform the community of legislative development progress and gather the perspectives of the community;
  5.  participate in legislative drafting by discussing recommendations;
  6.  review all proposed legislation; and
  7.  comply with the Akwesasne Legislative Enactment Regulation;
  8.  will clarify a clause in an Akwesasne Law when clarification is needed.

The Akwesasne Legislative Commission is composed of seven commission representatives, two each from the District of Kana:takon; Tsi Snaihne; Kawehno:ke; and one representative at-large, based on the following qualifications:

To qualify for appointment to the Akwesasne Legislative Commission a person must:

  1.  be a Member;
  2.  have knowledge of Mohawk cultures and traditions;
  3.  have good character, credibility and reputation in the Akwesasne community;
  4.  have good communication skills;
  5.  be “in good standing” as defined in the Akwesasne Good Standing Policy;
  6.  not be an elected member of the Mohawk Council of Akwesasne, the Saint Regis Mohawk Tribal Council or a Chief of the Mohawk Nation Council of Chiefs;
  7.  not be an employee of the Mohawk Council of Akwesasne;
  8.  never have been convicted of an offense under the Akwesasne Banishment Law, the Akwesasne Drug Law, an indictable offense in Canada or a felony in the United States;
  9.  be willing to attend and actively participate in training deemed essential for the successful operation of the Akwesasne Legislative Commission;
  10.  be willing to attend regularly scheduled Akwesasne Legislative Commission meetings to conduct business, and, attend Public Meetings as scheduled;

Initial term of appointment is three (3) years. An honorarium is set by MCR guidelines for persons appointed to the Akwesasne Legislative Commission.

If interested, the application package for the Akwesasne Legislative Commission can be picked up at the Akwesasne Justice Department, Angus Mitchell Memorial Building, Kana:takon.

Please send in a completed application package to the attention of: Aaron Terrance, Paralegal, Akwesasne Justice Department, Box 579, Cornwall ON or hand delivered to the Akwesasne Justice Department, Angus Mitchell Memorial Building, Kana:takon.

Inquiries can be made to Aaron Terrance at 613-575-2250 ext. 2418.