

COMMUNITY NOTICE

<u>For Immediate Release:</u> Tsiothóhrha/December 15, 2020

MOHAWK COUNCIL OF AKWESASNE GENERAL ELECTION

2021-2024 COUNCIL TERM

Pursuant to the *Akwesasne Election Law* 2019/2020 - #212, Heather Philips, Executive Director (formerly known as the Chief Administrative Officer) for the Mohawk Council of Akwesasne, is announcing the date of the next Mohawk Council of Akwesasne General Election.

This announcement is in accordance with the *Akwesasne Election Law*, Section 3.(12), that states: "The Chief Administrative Officer [Executive Director] is responsible for notification to the general public of General Election or By-Election."

The Mohawk Council of Akwesasne shall be comprised of one Grand Chief and twelve District Chiefs, consisting of four (4) District Chiefs from each district.

The candidate for the position of Grand Chief receiving the highest number of votes from all three districts shall be declared elected.

The four (4) candidates receiving the highest number of votes in a district for the position of District Chief shall be declared elected.

The position of Grand Chief and District Chiefs shall be determined at the General Election. Therefore, the Executive Director is announcing the General Election for the positions of Grand Chief and District Chiefs will be held on **June 26, 2021**.

A copy of the Akwesasne Election Law can be found on the Mohawk Council of Akwesasne website at: <u>www.akwesasne.ca/history-resources/by-laws/</u>, and it can also be requested from the Akwesasne Justice Department.

For further information, contact:

PHONE: 613-575-2250

FAX: 613-575-2181

Heather Phillips Executive Director Mohawk Council of Akwesasne Tel: (613) 575-2250 ext. 2123 Email: <u>executive.director@akwesasne.ca</u>