## MOHAWK COUNCIL OF AKWESASNE

Sustaining our inherent rights, facing challenges together to build a strong and healthy future.



#### **COMMUNITY ANNOUNCEMENT**

For Immediate Release: Ohiarí:ha/June 8, 2021

## MCA GENERAL ELECTION 2021: METHODS OF VOTING

The Mohawk Council of Akwesasne would like to inform the community that to keep all Akwesasne voters and staff members safe and healthy, the 2021 MCA General Election will be offering various methods of voting. These changes are to ensure that COVID-19 safety protocols are followed, and to reduce wait times for voters. Although there are various ways you can vote, each eligible voter can only cast their vote one time.

### ADVANCED POLLS (JUNE 6-JUNE 19)

Please be reminded that Advanced Polls can be completed from June 6 - June 19 by appointment only. To schedule an appointment, please call the Chief Electoral Officer at 613-575-5000 ext. 2406.

### IN-PERSON OR DRIVE-THROUGH VOTING (JUNE 26)

For the 2021 MCA General Election, in-person voting and drive-through voting will be an option for eligible voters. A Uniformed Security Personnel (USP) will be taking temperatures of the person(s) in the vehicle. If there is a temperature indicating a fever, the individual will be advised to stay in their car and vote in the drive-through.

In-person voting will take place under a tent at each designated voting premises in the three districts.

If you are uncomfortable voting in-person, individuals can stay in their car and utilize the process for drive-through voting. [5]

The traffic patterns will be directed by Uniformed Security Personnel (USP) at each location. The route maps are finalized and are attached.

# MOHAWK COUNCIL OF AKWESASNE

Sustaining our inherent rights, facing challenges together to build a strong and healthy future.



#### **OTHER INFORMATION**

# Criteria to be an Eligible Voter: Akwesasne Election Law - Section 7 (Eligibility of Voters)

A person who at the time of voting must:

- (a) have attained eighteen years of age;
- (b) be a resident in the district where they are voting;
- (c) be a registered member of the Mohawks of Akwesasne;
- (d) be an Onkwehonwe.

After the polls close, the ballots will be counted indoors to ensure paper ballots are secure. All persons will be screened before entering into the building facility. The only persons allowed in will be the Deputy Electoral Officers, the Chief Electoral Officer (CEO), Leona Benedict, the Uniformed Security Personnel (USP) and the appointed observers.

Please be reminded that individuals are not allowed into the voting area unless in the process of voting. Please note that after you cast your vote, no individuals shall congregate in the voting area.