

OFFICE OF THE CHIEF ELECTORAL OFFICER

<u>For Immediate Release</u>: Kentenhkó:wa/November 16, 2022

OFFICIAL NOMINATION RESULTS FOR KANA: TAKON BY-ELECTION

The following are the official results of the Kana:takon by-election nominations held on November 12, 2022 for the position of District Chief:

Larry King Theresa Jacobs Rachel Lazare Dalton Thomas Sherril Thomas-Lazare

A by-election for one (1) District Chief will be held on <u>Saturday, December 3, 2022</u> in the district of Kana:takon from 9 a.m. – 5 p.m. at the St. Regis Recreation Center.

Advance polls will be held on Wednesday, November 23 and Wednesday, November 30 by appointment only. Please call 613-575-2250 ext. 2406 to schedule an appointment.

Voters lists for the by-election have been posted at the following locations in the district:

Canada Post Office Village Currency Exchange

Please check the voters list to ensure that your name is on it. If your name is not on the list in your district, please contact the Chief Electoral Officer Leona Benedict at 613-575-2250 ext. 2406 or 613-551-1622. Community members can also visit the Akwesasne Justice Department (Angus Mitchell Memorial Building) to pick up an application.

Deadline to submit your application for the list is 8 a.m. on <u>Thursday, December 1, 2022</u>. The final voters list for Election Day will be printed the same day.

SECTION 7 (AKWESASNE ELECTION LAW) ELIGIBILITY OF VOTERS

A person who at the time of voting must:

- a) have attained eighteen years of age;
- b) be a resident in the district where they are voting;
- c) be a registered member of the Mohawks of Akwesasne;
- d) be an Onkwehonwe.

PHONE: 613-575-2250

FAX: 613-575-2181