MOHAWK COUNCIL OF AKWESASNE

Sustaining our inherent rights, facing challenges together to build a strong and healthy future.



COMMUNITY NOTICE

<u>For Immediate Release</u>: Ohiarihkó:wa/July 27, 2023

OFFICIAL NOMINATION RESULTS FOR AMBE ELECTION DISTRICT OF KANA: TAKON

The following candidates have accepted their nominations for the upcoming Ahkwesahsne Mohawk Board of Education election:

Cecilia (Ceely) King Teresa Oakes Elizabeth (Lizzy) Sawatis

An election for two (2) Board Members of the Ahkwesahsne Mohawk Board of Education will be held on Saturday, August 5, 2023 in the District of Kana:takon from the hours of 9 a.m. – 2 p.m. at the following location:

Kana:takon School

Advance polls will be held on August 1, 2023 by appointment only. Please call 613-575-2250 ext. 2406 to make an appointment.

Voters Lists for the by-election have been posted at the following locations:

Canada Post Office Village Currency Exchange

Please check the Voters List in your district to ensure that your name is on it. If your name is not on the list, please contact Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Leona Benedict at 613-575-2250 ext. 2406 or 613-551-1622. Community members can also visit the Justice office at the Angus Mitchell Memorial Building to pick up an application for the Voters List.

The final Voters List for the by-election will be printed on Thursday, August 3, 2023. Deadline to submit an application for the list is Thursday, August 3 at 8 a.m.

SECTION 7 (AKWESASNE ELECTION LAW) ELIGIBILITY OF VOTERS

A person who at the time of voting must:

a) have attained eighteen years of age;

- b) be a resident in the district where they are voting;
- c) be a registered member of the Mohawks of Akwesasne;

d) be an Onkwehonwe.