MOHAWK COUNCIL OF AKWESASNE

Sustaining our inherent rights, facing challenges together to build a strong and healthy future.



COMMUNITY NOTICE

For Immediate Release: Seskeha/August 19, 2023

UNOFFICIAL NOMINEES LIST FOR KAWEHNO:KE DISTRICT BY-ELECTION

The Chief Electoral Officer Leona Benedict has released the following UNOFFICIAL list of nominees for the Kawehno:ke District By-Election. Nominations took place on Saturday, August 19, 2023.

Kawehno:ke District Chief By-Election UNOFFICIAL Nominees:

NOMINEE	Nominated By:	Seconded By:
Lacey Sarah Pierce	Debbie Jocko	Debbie Point
Lloyd Benedict	Gwen Gray	Lloyd Benedict
Veronica Thompson	Carol Jacobs	Mark Jacobs
Lisa Francis-Benedict	Tracie Fuller	Kenneth Mitchell
Vince Thompson	Brian David	Leona Delormier
Thomas Francis	Cecil Ransom	Lorna Leaf
Thomas Francis	Mandy Francis	Marilyn Francis
Vince Thompson	Kenneth Chaussi	Lynn Roundpoint
Donald Jason White	Herbert Oakes	Celine Mitchell
Rosemary Square	Sandra Boots	Loretta David
Vince Thompson	Fawn Cole	Calvin Leaf
Melissa Oakes	Kateri Benedict	Jean Benedict

Candidates have until Wednesday, August 23, 2023, at 12 p.m. to accept their nomination. The official list of candidates will be released once verified by the CEO.