MOHAWK COUNCIL OF AKWESASNE

Sustaining our inherent rights, facing challenges together to build a strong and healthy future.



COMMUNITY NOTICE

For Immediate Release: Tsiothóhrha/December 8, 2023

AKWESASNE MEMBERSHIP BOARD BY-ELECTION OFFICIAL RESULTS DISTRICT OF KANA: TAKON

A by-election for the Akwesasne Membership Board (Kana:takon District) was held on Saturday, December 2, 2023.

No appeals were filed by the deadline of 2 p.m. on Thursday, December 7, 2023. The official results are as follows:

2-Year Term

Carrie Benedict — 28

Jenna David — 19

Laura Francis — 18

Waylon Cook was acclaimed for the 4-Year Term.

Carrie Benedict and Waylon Cook are duly elected to the Akwesasne Membership Board.