MOHAWK COUNCIL OF AKWESASNE

Sustaining our inherent rights, facing challenges together to build a strong and healthy future.



OFFICE OF THE CHIEF ELECTORAL OFFICER

<u>For Immediate Release</u>: Onerahtókha/April 18, 2024

NOTICE OF NOMINATIONS FOR MCA GENERAL ELECTION

TO BE HELD ON MAY 18, 2024

Notice is hereby given that nominations of the eligible Mohawk members of Akwesasne will be held on **Saturday. May 18. 2024**, beginning at 9:00 a.m. until 1:00 p.m. for the purpose of nominating candidates for the positions of Grand Chief and District Chiefs for the Mohawk Council of Akwesasne, for the next ensuing term. There are four District Chiefs positions for each of the three districts and one position for Grand Chief available. The nominations will be held at the following locations:

Kawehno:ke Recreation Center Kana:takon Recreation Center Tsi Snaihne Recreation Center

Elections will be held on <u>Saturday</u>, <u>June 29</u>, <u>2024</u>. Advance Polls will be held on June 12, 2024, and on June 19, 2024, by appointment only. To make an appointment, please call Chief Electoral Officer Theresa Thompson at 613-551-1622, or the Akwesasne Justice Department at 613-575-2250.

Please note that any eligible voter may nominate candidates for both Grand Chief and a limit of four District Chiefs positions. To be considered an Eligible Voter, a person who at the time of voting must:

- a) have attained eighteen years of age,
- b) be a resident in the district where they are voting,
- c) be a registered member of the Mohawks of Akwesasne, and
- d) be an Onkwehonwe.

Any candidate for the position of Grand Chief or District Chief must:

- a) have attained the age of 18 years,
- b) have resided in the territory of Akwesasne for one year immediately preceding the date of election,
- c) be a registered member of the Mohawks of Akwesasne,
- d) be an Onkwehonwe,
- e) be nominated for the position by at least two persons eligible to vote for that person, and
- f) not be a CEO, DEO, USP or Appointed Observer as contemplated in this Election Law.

Please review the Voters List (available at the locations below) to ensure your name is on it for the upcoming General Election on June 29, 2024.

Kawehno:ke: BMO and Express Gas
Kana:takon: Village Currency and Canada Post Office
Tsi Snaihne: Snye Life Convenience Store and Iohahi:io