

COMMUNITY NOTICE

<u>For Immediate Release</u>: Seskehkó:wa/September 10, 2024

## COMMUNITY CALLOUT FOR MOHAWK COUNCIL HOUSING AUTHORITY

The Mohawk Council of Akwesasne is seeking three community members (one from each district of Kawehno:ke, Kana:takon, and Tsi Snaihne) to sit on the Mohawk Council Housing Authority. These individuals will represent the community's perspective and interests in the Housingv Authority, which is also made up of MCA staff and Chiefs.

The community representatives will be expected to attend regular Housing Authority meetings, which are held from 1:30 p.m. – 4:00 p.m. on the fourth Wednesday of every month. No honorariums or remuneration will be offered for these positions.

## As per the Housing Authority Charter:

- Community representatives are chosen through an informal selection process undertaken by the Housing Director and three Portfolio Chiefs.
- Community representatives must be 18 years of age or older and be enrolled on the Akwesasne Membership rolls and reside within the Territory of the Mohawk Council of Akwesasne.
- Community representatives are selected on the basis of their good character and reputation in the community as well as their interest in housing issues.
- Individuals who are directly or indirectly involved in any facet of housing construction are not eligible for membership.
- If there is a lack of interest from the community, there will be no community representation on the Housing Authority.

Community members interested in representing their district must submit a letter of interest to the MCA Department of Infrastructure, Housing & Environment's (DIHE) Housing Sector at 101 Tewesateni Road, Akwesasne, ON K6H 0G5 or email <u>charmaine.caldwell@akwesasne.ca</u>. The deadline to apply is September 23, 2024 at 2 p.m.

If you have any questions, please contact the DIHE Housing Sector at 613-575-2250 ext. 1053.