

COMMUNITY NOTICE

<u>For Immediate Release</u>: Onerahtohkó:wa/May 8, 2025

CALL OUT FOR COMMUNITY COMMENTS ON THE AKWESASNE ELECTION LAW AMENDMENT

The Akwesasne Election Law (AEL) Working Task Group (WTG) is currently accepting written comments from community members concerning the petition for an amendment to section 16.2 of the AEL:

"REMOVAL/VACANCY FROM COUNCIL.

16. (2) A member of the Mohawk Council is removed from Council if: (a) a petition requesting the removal of a District Chief is signed by an equal number of votes plus one from the official total number of votes he/ she received on election/by election day and delivered to the Council at a duly convened General Meeting; or"

The AEL sets out the rules and procedures for all elections within the three districts of Akwesasne and was last updated on April 8, 2024. On February 27, 2025, community members from the districts of Kaná:takon, Tsi Snáihne, and Kawehnó:ke presented a petition at a General Meeting requesting an amendment specifically to this section.

The petition met the requirements outlined in Section 4.6 of the Akwesasne Legislative Enactment Procedural Regulations (ALEPR), which states that a request to amend an Akwesasne Law must be signed by at least 75 eligible voters from each of the three districts, totaling a minimum of 225 signatures. In this case, over 300 eligible voters signed in support of amending Section 16.2 of the AEL.

How to Submit Your Comments:

Written comments can be submitted by email to Legislative Services Manager Alyson Thompson at <u>alyson.thompson@akwesasne.ca</u>, or dropped off in person at the Akwesasne Justice Department Administration Office, located at 45 Johnson Rd., Kaná:takon (formerly the old Tickets store).

The deadline to submit comments is Friday, May 23, 2025, by 4:30 p.m.

PHONE: 613-575-2250 FAX: 613-575-2181 AKWESASNE-LAND WHERE THE PARTRIDGE DRUMS PO BOX 90 101 TEWESATENI ROAD AKWESASNE, QUEBEC HOM 1 A0 AKWESASNE, ONTARIO K6H 0G5

WWW.AKWESASNE.CA INFO@AKWESASNE.CA