## MOHAWK COUNCIL OF AKWESASNE

Sustaining our inherent rights, facing challenges together to build a strong and healthy future.



OFFICE OF THE CHIEF ELECTORAL OFFICER

For Immediate Release: Ohiarihkó:wa/July 12, 2025

## AMBE BOARD OF TRUSTEES UNOFFICIAL NOMININATIONS

The Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Cheryl Jacobs has released the following UNOFFICIAL list of nominees for the Ahkwesahsne Mohawk Board of Education (AMBE) Board of Trustees.

Nominations were held on Saturday, Ohiarihkó:wa/July 12, 2025 for the following seats:

- One (1) 3-year term District of Kana:takon
- One (1) 3-year term District of Kawehno:ke
- Two (2) 3-year terms District of Tsi Snaihne

Candidates must complete and submit their nomination package no later than Friday, July 25, 2025, at 12:00 p.m. (noon).

The official list of candidates will be released once verified by the CEO. Should an Election be required, AMBE Elections will be held on Saturday, August 23, 2025, from 9:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m. at the following locations:

- Ahkwesahsne Mohawk School (Cafeteria)
- Kana:takon School (Lobby)
- Iohahi:io Akwesasne Education & Training Institute (Cafeteria)

If you have any questions or concerns, please contact the Chief Electoral Officer Cheryl Jacobs at 613-551-2126 or by email at chief.electoral.officer@akwesasne.ca.

Kawehno:ke UNOFFICIAL Nominees: One (1) Seat

Name	Nominated by	Seconded by
Kathleen Papineau	Lucy Papineau	Sharon Garrow
Gary Cole	Donna Delormier	B. Ann Deer
Taylor Day	B. Ann Deer	Donna Delormier
Rosemary Square	Lisa Francis-Benedict	Angela Barnes

## Kana:takon UNOFFICIAL Nominees: One (1) Seat

Name	Nominated by	Seconded by
Danielle Oakes	Lorraine Oakes	Candice Thomas
Elizabeth Sawatis	Laura Thompson	Melissa Johnson

## Tsi Snaihne UNOFFICIAL Nominees:

Name	Nominated by	Seconded by
Darlene Adams	April Adams	William Adams
Mary Terrance	Jade Jackson	Darcy Jackson

Prepared by: Chief Electoral Officer Cheryl Jacobs on July 12, 2025