Welcome! I would like to thank you for stopping in at our Website.

As you browse through our site, you will see how geographically unique the Akwesasne Territory is, having an International Border running through our Territory and further to that, having the two provinces of Quebec and Ontario within the Canadian side of Akwesasne, where, the Mohawk Council of Akwesasne, is the elected system government.

The Mohawk Council of Akwesasne is composed of twelve (12) District Chiefs and a Grand Chief. The twelve (12) District Chiefs are representatives of the three (3) Districts, namely, TsiSnaihne, Kanatakon, and Kawehnoke. Each of these three (3) Districts elect four (4) Chiefs, and the Grand Chief is elected by all three Districts.

Because of our geographic uniqueness, we have to lobby not just the Federal Government but also two provincial governments. These governments usually state that Akwesasne is a "jurisdictional nightmare". Much of the Council's time/focus is spent on jurisdictional issues. Council's goal is to protect what rights we have now, and to negotiate the acknowledgement from outside governments of Akwesasne's jurisdiction, in areas such as but not limited to, Governance, Justice, Law-making, Economic Development, Environment.

I encourage you to browse through our site, acquire an understanding of who and what the Mohawk Council of Akwesasne are. Most pages have left a contact person and address, please feel free to contact us.