Akwesasne Mohawk Board Of Education


“Ie thi ha hon:nien– We Make the Road for Them”

The success of the Board is best measured by the successes of our students who have come through the system. The graduation rate, the number of students entering colleges and universities, and the number of students returning to Akwesasne to work, teach, and lead the community are definite signs that the goals and mission of the Ahkwesahsne Mohawk Board of Education is being accomplished.

Ahkwesahsne Mohawk School
Head Start to Grade 5; Grade 6-8

  • 297 students enrolled at AMS
  • 61% of students reading at or above grade level in grades 1-8
  • 30% of students scored at or above grade level on the EQAO testing in grades 3 & 6 (Rate in Ontario is 71%)
  • 32% of students in grades 3-5 made the honour roll
  • 20% of students in grades 6-8 made the honour roll

Kana:takon School
Head Start to Grade 5/6

  • 121 students enrolled
  • Head Start to Grade 4 Mohawk Language Skahwatsi:ra program
  • Grade 5/6 English transition
  • Culturally Based Curriculum

Tsi Snaihne School
Head Start to Grade 5

  • 146 students enrolled
  • 75% of students reading at or above grade level
  • 52% of students scored at or above grade level on the EQAO testing in grade 3 (Rate in Ontario is 71%)
  • 80% of students made the honour roll for the 1st term
  • 86% of students completed the Read and Responds for 2nd reading cycle

Grade 6 opening in 2016-2017

AMBE Initiatives
The Ahkwesahsne Mohawk Board of Education is committed to providing the best possible education for Akwesasne’s children. Some topics currently under discussion/review:

  • Curriculum: AMBE students are instructed following guidelines from the Ontario Cur-riculum. In addition, the Mohawk language and culture is taught throughout the curric-ulum from Head Start to Grade 8
  • Literacy: Success For All Program is followed
  • Special Needs: All children are equal and have the right to an education, AMBE pro-vides an inclusive environment.
  • Mohawk Language: The Board strongly supports the continued development of our Immersion Program (Skahwatsi:ra) and Second-Language Training.
  • Electives: Courses such as Art, Music, and Computers are offered in our schools.

Akwesasne Head Start
Head Start programming is offered at Ahkwesahsne Mohawk School, Tsi Snaihne School, and Kana:takon School. Head Start is a school readiness program for children ages 3 & 4. The program delivers curriculum based on Curiosity Corner ©, a program developed by the Success for All Foundation. There are currently 48 students enrolled in Head Start.

Post Secondary
AMBE believes that it is important for community members to pursue Post-Secondary edu-cation opportunities.
In 2015, there were 80 graduates from colleges and universities
There are approximately 434 students enrolled in the Post Secondary Assistance Program for 2015/2016

Secondary School
The AMBE Secondary School Program provides services to students at CCVS, St Joseph’s Secondary School, or St Lawrence High School.

  • 188 students enrolled in the AMBE Secondary School Program
  • 73% of students received their high school diploma in 2015 (83% of students in Ontario)
  • 25 students on honour roll for semester 1

Other Services Offered by AMBE:

  • Food Services
  • 62% of students have free or reduced lunch
  • After School Program
  • 100 students in the After School Program
  • Transportation
  • 19 full time bus runs