“Equity, fairness and respectfulness.”

Mohawk Council of Akwesasne’s Justice Department is located at the Angus Mitchell Memorial Building, 15 Akwesasne St., Akwesasne, QC H0M 1A0
Phone: 613 575 2250 ext. 2400     Fax: 613 575 1726     Open: 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. – Monday to Friday

The Akwesasne Justice Department employs the principle of natural justice to empower the community to safeguard collective rights, primarily, and individuals rights (secondary) for Akwesasronon, while remaining respectful of the community’s heritage and culture.

Authorities, Boards, Commissions, Tribunals

  • Akwesasne Membership Board
  • Akwesasne Review Commission
  • Akwesasne Election Appeal Board
  • Neh Kanikonriio Council
  • Akwesasne Legislative Commission
  • Akwesasne Tobacco Commission

A First Nation Justice System

A first in Canada, Mohawk Council of Akwesasne designed a First Nation Justice System based on customary laws which incorporate traditional restorative principles in the three main responsibilities of government: Law-Making; Adjudication and Enforcement

Legislative Services

  • 34 Akwesasne Laws Registered With Akwesasne Law Registry
  • 1 Laws currently being amended
    • Akwesasne Election Law – Amendment Information Here
  • 5 Laws currently being developed:
  • 35 additional laws are needed to meet community priorities

Akwesasne Court

Judiciary: Two Justices
Prosecutor and Defense Counsel
As an inherent right court, the judiciary is overseen by the Akwesasne Review Commission to ensure judicial independence.
The Akwesasne Tekaia’torehtha:ke Kaianer-enhsera (Akwesasne Court Law) sets out the principles, powers and authorities of the court and reflects the values of the Mohawks of Akwesasne and the principles of Sken:nen (peace), Kasastensera (strength) and Kanikonri:io (a good mind), respect, fairness and natural justice.
The Akwesasne Court Law is enacted in exercise of the inherent right of self-government of the Mohawks of Akwesasne as recognized and affirmed by the Royal Proclamation of 1763; section 35 of the Constitution Act 1982; and, by the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples.

  • Adjudication of Akwesasne Laws
  • Court appointed defense services
  • Peacebond Hearings
  • Mediation Services
  • Appeals
  • Community Service

Akwesasne Community Justice Program

In 2004, a Crown Protocol agreement was established between MCA, DOJ Quebec and MAG Ontario for diversion and community justice services.

  • Neh Kanikonriio Council (Criminal Court Diversions) 30-50 diversions/year
  • Indigenous Court Worker Program to assist the accused, victims and witnesses to understand rights, responsibilities and options available to the offender and the victim.
Ministry of Children and Youth Services
Youth Justice Worker:
  • (Youth Personal Service Orders)
  • Extra-Judicial Measures (since 2012) = 84 clients
  • Extra-Judicial Services (since 2012) = 63 clients
Native Inmate Liaison Officer Program

Native programming, services and counselling at the Ottawa Carleton Detention Centre.

  • Culturally relevant programming
  • Sweat Lodge on site
  • Smudging
  • Referral Services

Akwesasne Justice Department Programs

  • Akwesasne Court
  • Legal Services
  • Legislative Services
  • Akwesasne Community Justice Program
  • Compliance Program
  • Conservation Program
  • Early Release Parole
  • Ontario Probation
  • Quebec Probation
  • Youth Probation & Reintegration

Akwesasne Justice Department Services

  • ATV Registrations
  • Boat Registrations
  • Boat Safety Course
  • Court Worker Services
  • Firearms Safety Course
  • Jury Duty Notices
  • Complaints on CBSA
  • Mediation Services
  • Criminal Diversions
  • Gladue Writer
  • Cultural Sensitivity Training
  • Legislative Services
  • Legal Services
  • Paralegal Services
  • Native Counselling Services



Iatathróna Raotiientáhtsera “Couples Property” Law


Director: Joyce King
Contact Info: 613-575-2250 • Ext. 2400
Fax:  613-575-1726
Send Email

Programs and Services