Akwesasne Mohawk Police Service


The Akwesasne Mohawk Police Service has been in existence since the 1960s. In 1971, the Band Council passed a Band Council Resolution to call the police Service “St. Regis Akwesasne Police Department”. In 1973, the St. Regis Akwesasne Police Officers were accepted into the Ontario Police College.

In 1986 Band Council passed another resolution to rename the St. Regis Akwesasne Police Department, to the Akwesasne Mohawk Police.

The Akwesasne Mohawk Police Service has jurisdiction and authority in both Quebec and Ontario.




The mission of the Akwesasne Mohawk Police Service (AMPS) is the enhance peace, harmony, justice, and cultural values throughout Akwesasne. In addition, the Akwesasne Mohawk Police strive to honor and respect all living things and to acquire the highest level of professionalism and accountability in servicing the community members of Akwesasne and surrounding areas.




  • General Uniform Patrol
  • Community Policing
  • Joint Investigation Team (JIT)
  • Criminal Investigations
  • Emergency Dispatch Services
  • Traffic Law Enforcement
  • Marine Patrol Services
  • Anti-Drug Enforcement
  • Anti-Smuggling Enforcement
  • Victims Assistance
  • Emergency Response



  • To serve and protect the community of Akwesasne
  • To enforce the laws of Akwesasne and Canada in a fair and unbiased manner.
  • To enforce a variety of assignments, including: Traffic law, Anti-Drug & Smuggling Enforcement, and Criminal code enforcement.
  • To protect our community today, for the seven generations of tomorrow
  • To provide leadership and role models for our youth.
  • To work as part of a team.




Chief of Police: Shawn Dulude
Deputy Chief of Police: Lee-Ann O’Brien


73 Sweetgrass Lane
Kana:takon (St. Regis), Quebec
H0M 1A0


For non-emergencies or for general information, please contact AMPS at 613-575-2340.


Central/Emergency Dispatch: 613-575-2000
Akwesasne Crimestoppers: 613-575-2255