AMPS Accepting Used/Expired Prescription Drugs For National Prescription Take Day

National Prescription Take Day will take place on April 28, 2018 from 10:00 AM – 2:00 PM. The Akwesasne Mohawk Police Service will have three locations to drop off your unused or expired prescription medications. The Akwesasne Mohawk Police Station, Tsi Snaihne SubStation, and the Peace Tree Trade Center will be designated drop off locations. Every person who drops off an item will receive a free gift.



Additional Tobacco Agreement Focus Meeting Scheduled

The Mohawk Council of Akwesasne is informing the community that two additional focus meetings have been scheduled to review the proposed draftTobacco Regulation and Revenue Agreement..

Since 2013, the MCA received funding from the Government of Ontario for the development of a Tobacco Regulatory Framework which facilitated the development of the Akwesasne Oien:kwa Kaianerenhsera (Akwesasne Tobacco Law).

In December 2017, MCA and the Government of Ontario established the process to negotiate a Tobacco Final Agreement and the proposed TobaccoRegulation and Revenue Sharing Agreement was presented to Council on April 9, 2018. 
During the Focus Meeting April 18th, a line-by-line reading of the proposed Tobacco Regulation and Revenue Sharing Agreement between the Government of Ontario and the Mohawk Council will be reviewed and thoroughly explained.

For more information, please contact the Department of Tehotiennawakon at 613-575-2250.


The meetings will take place: 

Wednesday, April 25, 2018

5 – 9 p.m.

Iohahi:io Adult Education Facility (Tsi Snaihne District)

Friday, April 27, 2018

5 – 9 p.m.

Kana:takon/St. Regis Recreation (Kana:takon District)

Our Elected Chiefs

The 2018-2021 Council Chiefs are:

Grand Chief

Abram Benedict

Kawehno:ke District Chiefs

Dennis Chaussi

Carolyn Francis

Edward Roundpoint

Vince Thompson

Kana:takon District Chiefs

Theresa Jacobs

Darryl “Kermit” Lazore

Julie Phillips-Jacobs

Tim “Dooley” Thompson

Tsi Snaihne District Chiefs

April Adams-Phillips

Connie Lazore

Joe Lazore

Tobi Mitchell

1 15 16 17