The Akwesasne Mohawk Police Commission (AMPC) is the governing authority for the Akwesasne Mohawk Police Service (AMPS). The AMPC assists the Chief of Police in the identification and implementation of community-oriented policing initiatives and the development of policies for the effective management and administration of the AMPS.

The AMPC meets once a month to hear and respond to reports from the Chief of Police regarding the activities of the Police Service. The AMPC will bring forth concerns regarding policing within the Territory of Akwesasne to the attention of the Chief of Police.

The mission of the Akwesasne Mohawk Police Commission is to oversee and ensure that the Akwesasne Mohawk Police Service provides community-oriented policing services that are sensitive to the needs and culture of the people of Akwesasne and provides all people with protection to enjoy their lawful activities and customs.

Additionally, the AMPC assists in the recruitment and selection process of qualified candidates to become constables within the AMPS. The AMPC is also responsible for selecting, recruiting and terminating a Chief of Police. The AMPC actively participates in negotiations for future policing agreements and other matters or negotiations affecting policing in Akwesasne.

The AMPC is composed of two members from each of the three districts; Tsi Snaihne, Kana:takon and Kawehno:ke appointed by Resolution of Council in accordance with section 3.3 from among persons submitting letters of interest. Public Safety Portfolio District Chiefs are also assigned by Council and participate in monthly meetings and negotiations for future funding agreements. However, they are not considered members of the AMPC and do not participate in decision making for the AMPC.

The term of appointment for a member of the AMPC is three (3) years.

The current Police Commissioners for the term of 2019-2022 are:

• Gary Cole – Commission Chairperson
• Donna Delormier

• Esther Jock
• Caroline Peters

• Johanne Jackson
• Jennine Hall

• Darryl Lazore – Public Safety Portfolio Chief (2018-2021)
• Connie Lazore – Public Safety Portfolio Chief (2018-2021)
• JoAnn Swamp – Recording Secretary

The Akwesasne Mohawk Police Commission is committed to resolving all complaints in an expeditious, transparent and fair manner.

Concerns and all other correspondence relating to the Akwesasne Mohawk Police Commission may be addressed in writing to the Commission Chairperson:
Gary Cole
73 Sweetgrass Lane, Akwesasne, QC H0M 1A0