The Mohawk Council of Akwesasne is notifying the community that Kana:takon District Chief Larry King has been removed from office as of June 29, 2023 by community petition.


According to Section 16 (2)(a) of the Akwesasne Election Law, a petition to remove a District Chief must be signed by “an equal number of votes plus one from the official total number of votes” that the District Chief received on election/by-election day.


District Chief Larry King was voted into office through a by-election on December 9, 2022 for a three-year term. King received 38 votes and took an oath of office on December 15, 2022.


On May 25, 2023 at the MCA General Meeting, a petition to remove District Chief Larry King was submitted by a community member. The signatures were examined by Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Leona Benedict with the following results reported:

Total number signed: 64
Eligible voters: 51
Not on Voters List: 13
Illegible/Could not identify: 0


The required number of signatures to remove District Chief was 38 plus 1=39. Therefore, with 51 signatures the petition was verified. Section 16.(5) of the Akwesasne Election Law requires that the results of the petition be delivered at a General Meeting and that Council “shall declare the member removed and order a By-Election for that position.” The results were officially delivered at the June 29, 2023 General Meeting.


CEO Benedict has announced that a By-Election for one Kana:takon District Chief position for the remainder of the 2021-2024 term will take place on Saturday, August 5, 2023.


Nominations will be held on Saturday, July 22, 2023 from 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. at the Kana:takon School.


If you have any questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact Chief Electoral Officer Leona Benedict at 613-575-2250 ext. 2406.