MCA By-Election for Kawehno:ke District Chief

September 2, 2023 @ 9:00 AM – 5:00 PM
Kana:takon School

A by-election for one (1) District Chief will be held in Kawehno:ke on Saturday, September 2, 2023 at the Ahkwesahsne Mohawk School (AMS) from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.



  • Rosemary Square
  • Lloyd Benedict
  • Lacey Pierce
  • Thomas Francis
  • DJ White
  • Melissa/Iakowi:he’ne’ Oakes
  • Vince Thompson



A person who at the time of voting must;

  1. a) have attained eighteen years of age;
  2. b) be a resident in the district where they are voting;
  3. c) be a registered member of the Mohawks of Akwesasne;
  4. d) be an Onkwehonwe.


Voters Lists have been posted at Bank of Montreal (BMO) and Express Gas.


If your name is not on the list, please contact Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Leona Benedict at 613-575-2250 ext. 2406 or 613-551-1622. Community members can also visit the Justice office at the Angus Mitchell Memorial Building to pick up an application for the Voters List.