The Mohawk Council of Akwesasne is proud to recognize the 2022 Akwesasne Student Bursary recipients. Every year, MCA’s partners, Bank of Montreal and Enbridge, sponsor student bursaries for Akwesasne youth who are pursuing their post-secondary education. MCA hosted the students and sponsors for a luncheon and ceremony today at the St. Regis Recreation Centre.


Grand Chief Abram Benedict and Chief Sarah Lee Sunday-Diabo gave the students words of encouragement, reflecting on the importance of recognizing our youth’s accomplishments, and encouraging them to seek support from the community when needed. The graduates were also invited to sign the Ionkwakwé:nion Book of Accomplishments as a way to commemorate this milestone.


Congratulations to recipients of this year’s BMO Awards (presented by Troy Lalonde):

Reagan Clute-Francis
Cole Cook
Karontakowa Cook
Shakohentehtha Elijah
Tori Jacobs
Kanietahere Jacobs-Otter
Teya Mitchell
Nathan Rourke
Quest Thompson
Riana White


Congratulations to recipients of this year’s Enbridge awards (presented by Melanie Green):

Tsiwahsontiio Beauvais
Tatum Cole
Cassius Cook
Mackenzie Leigh Garrow
Persephone Gray
Skaienteri Gray
Koy Peters
Korbyn Pierce
Jacob Ransom
Kahentaienni Thompson


Congratulations to the winners of the Wade Lafrance Memorial Award:

Tsiwahsontiio Beauvais
Raiden Bush-Garrow
Ashtin Johnson