On Tuesday, August 15, 2023 the Mohawk Council of Akwesasne (MCA) held a swearing-in ceremony for Fallon David, the newly-elected District Chief of Kana:takon.  District Chief David was elected through a by-election held on August 5, 2023 for the district of Kana:takon.  


Chief David was sworn in by Justice of the Peace Alexandra David at the Kana:takon Recreation Center with family, friends, council and community members.  Words of welcome were provided to her through speeches given by Grand Chief Abram Benedict, Acting Executive Director Tessa Jocko, Kana:takon District Chief Cindy Francis-Mitchell, Tsi Snaihne District Chief Sarah Sunday-Diabo and Tsi Snaihne District Chief Dwayne Thomas.  Alma Ransom, community elder and great-aunt of District Chief David, also provided warm words and advice for political success.  Youth Kaienas Lazore sang the Mohawk Friendship Song, which provided a beautiful ending to a positive event.   


Congratulations and welcome, District Chief Fallon David — the community looks forward to the positive contributions that you will bring. 


Niawenhkó:wa to all those who shared in today’s celebration and ceremony.  


If you would like to watch the full Swearing-In Ceremony, please visit the MCA Youtube channel or click the following link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qsuB8c2gm5k