The Mohawk Council of Akwesasne is pleased to announce the confirmation and appointments of four new Ratiianerenhserakwenienhstha (Justices): Alexandra David, Mellani Martin, Rhonda Garrow, and Theresa Thompson. The Justices were sworn in by the Director of the Akwesasne Justice Department, who also holds an appointment as a Justice of the Peace, Joyce King. The Swearing-In Ceremony was held on Thursday, April 28th at Council’s General Meeting.


Through a grant from the Department of Justice Canada, the Akwesasne Justice Department contracted with the Canadian Institute for the Administration of Justice (CIAJ) for a Justice Training Program. This training program was designed for Akwesasne’s unique circumstances. CIAJ did an excellent job putting forth notable justices/speakers across Canada to assist with this Justice training. The Justice Training was an intense 10-week session with follow-up classes in the fall of 2021.


Fourteen community members attended the justice training. As a result, four Mohawk women met the qualifications and training requirements set by the Akwesasne Review Commission to be considered for an appointment to sit before the Akwesasne Court.


The Akwesasne Court Law was passed in February 2016 and came into force in August 2016. The Akwesasne Court Law grants the new justice jurisdiction to adjudicate the following civil offenses:

  • Indian Act Offenses
  • Akwesasne Laws and By-laws
  • Protection Orders (Peace bonds/Skennen Orders)
  • Court-ordered Mediation Services


If you have any questions, you may contact the Akwesasne Court at 613-575-2250 ext. 1025.