For Immediate Release:
Seskeha/August 11, 2023

A by-election was held in the district of Kana:takon on August 5, 2023 for 1 (one) Kana:takon district chief.  An appeal letter was filed, and the appeal board deemed the submission did not meet the standards of an appeal prescribed by the Akwesasne Election Law. Therefore, the Chief Electoral Officer has provided notice of the official election results.


Kana:takon District Chief By-Election Candidates & Voting Results:

Fallon David                       60 votes
Theresa Jacobs                  24 votes
Larry King                           35 votes
Leona Lafrance                  10 votes


The following candidate has been officially declared elected to the office of Kana:takon District Chief:  Fallon David